87…The Stuff to do: Hike to the Hollywood Sign

The first time we trekked up to the Hollywood sign, we did it all wrong.  Without a map or directions, we hiked for hours, with our eye on the prize.  Thinking it would take just an hour, we ended up hiking for the whole afternoon.  For years I couldn’t get my kids to try again.

But after that first disastrous failure, I have made my way up the short, painless hike many times.  I’ve convinced many others to join me, I’ve led groups and even gotten my daughter to join me.  It is one of her favorite hikes.

20150523_093903The payoff is worth the 45-minute hike up and it is especially beautiful if you can time to arrive at the time just as the sunsets.

2015-08-16 14.06.35

Leave a Reply

