82…The Cocktails: Jax

Oh the many, many drinks I’ve had a Jax!  My little bar is gone now…and yes…I’m quite heartbroken.  But the memories are still there.   I’m just going to list the various drinks and memories that go along with them.  This is by no means a comprehensive list…just a selected few that have stayed in my memory over the years.

  • The Revolver, by Kristine
    This is one of those drinks you don’t forget.  It tastes just like its name.  It is smoky, smooth and rich.
  • Sazerac, by Kristine
    Kristine made me many classic cocktails…but her variation of the Sazerac without the Absinthe is great!
  • The Classic Cucumber martini, by Mike
    Maybe I spent too many hot summer nights at Jax, but this was a good go-to favorite of mine and Mike made it perfectly and often added a little something special to make it unique.
  • The Famous Chocolate Coffee Martini, by Mike
    Mike would create a full course of cocktails for me…appetizers to dessert.  And his coffee drink at the end of the night was always delightfully decadent.  I don’t know if it had a real name, or if Mike made it up every time…but I loved it each time!
  • Watermelon & Basil Martini, by Kristine
    So this was a great little experiment.  One of my favorite things about going to Jax was that the bartenders were always willing to try something new and often had ideas that they would try out with me.  This was one of them…and it was delicisous!
  • The Negroni, by Lorenzo & Kristine
    This is another classic cocktail.  I loved it so much that I texted Kristine in the middle of the night while I was in Belize to ask the ingredients so I could have my local bartender create it for me.
  • The Fresh Tomato Basil Martini by Daniel
    Daniel was only at Jax a short time.  But we had a mutual love for tomatoes.  During the summer he brought in a basket of home grown heirloom tomatoes for me to take home.  He then made me a tomato basil martini, like a summer salad in a glass.  It was both beautiful and tasty.
  • The French Connection, by Apryl
    Apryl made me unique creations like the other bartenders, but what I remember is her tradition of ending my night by giving me a French Connection.  I don’t know if she was just ready for me to leave, or just stop talking…as this is a very intoxicating drink…it was always my last.
  • The Vesper Martini, by Kristine
    My favorite drink of all time!  Thanks Kristine for introducing me to this martini.  Now that Kristine has moved on to bigger and better things – I’ve moved to having the bartender at Cole’s pour me this amazing little martini!
Leave a Reply

