41…The Food: Jax

I believe I have eaten everything on the menu at least once!  But my favorite dish was Dynamite Shrimp.  Tempera fried shrimp with a sweet and spicy sauce.   It was only on the “Specials” menu – which meant I never tired of it.

My first favorite was the Sesame Chicken.   This was a sesame seed encrusted chicken breast – I LOVED this…which of course meant that they removed it from the menu.  But I could still get it.  I knew one or more of the staff members and with a little begging I could get the kitchen staff to make it for me or my son even years after it had been taken off the menu.

Some of the other famous dishes I enjoyed at Jax?

cheeseburger-saladCheeseburger Salad

Another one of my special dishes.  This one was coined the Cheeseburger Salad by Kristine and myself.  You see, Jax made one of the best cheeseburgers in town…and to make myself feel better about indulging in a cheeseburger, I would get a small salad instead of French fries.  The kitchen would put the salad on the plate with the burger.  Kristine would call it the Cheeseburger Salad….I was just ordering a salad – that came with a cheeseburger.  J

Tomato Basil Spaghettini with Blacken Chicken

This one was a special order recommended by Kristen.  There was a light vegetarian dish, Tomato Basil Spaghettini – and I wanted some chicken, so Kristen suggested adding the blackened chicken.  The roasted tomatoes in this dish were the highlight.  I’ve tried and tried to re-create the tomatoes, but I’ve never managed to get it right.  The tomatoes were chunky, meaty and delicious.

 

Barbeque Salmon Salad

I ate this dish until I completely exhausted it.  I nice spinach salad with marinated tomatoes, red onion, sliced mango and warm salmon grilled in barbeque sauce.

 

Leave a Reply

